Album: Drake ‘Certified Lover Boy’

Hip Hop

The Boy is back.

After a few slight delays, Drake has finally released his much-anticipated and sixth solo album, Certified Lover Boy.

Initially scheduled for a 2020 release, the LP was announced last October with a release date of January 2021. After nine months of delays and recovering from a knee injury, The Boy delivered an epic roll out including a cryptic PSA on ESPN, the artwork reveal designed by Damien Hirst, and various billboards scattered across the globe that unveiled lyrics and guests names.

Executive produced by Drake, Noah “40” Shebib, Oliver El-Khatib, and Noel Cadastre, the 21-track LP includes “Champagne Poetry”, “Pipe Down”, “No Friends In The Industry”, TSU”, and “Race My Mind”, as well as “7 Am On Bridle Path”, “Fucking Fans”, The Remorse”, and its star-studded collaborations.

Drizzy reunites with JAY-Z on “Love All”, connects with Lil Wayne and Rick Ross for “You Only Live Twice”, and links with Future on “N 2 Deep” and “Way 2 Sexy” featuring Young Thug. Lil Baby co-stars on “Girls Want Girls” and Travis Scott guests on “Fair Trade”.

Drake aligns with KiD CuDi on “IMY2”, taps Ty Dolla $ign to “Get Along Better”, joins Tem in “Fountains” and gives Yebba the spotlight for “Yebba’s Heartbreak”. Elsewhere, the 6 God joins Lil Durk and Giveon “In The Bible”, collaborates with 21 Savage and Project Pat on “Knife Talk”, and welcomes a Nicki Minaj cameo on “Papi’s Home”.

CLB is the follow-up to Drake’s 2018 album Scorpion, that debuted at No. 1 on the Billboard charts and became the first project ever to accumulate a billion streams in one week. Since then, Drizzy has released his Dark Lane Demo Tapes mixtape in May 2020 and his Scary Hours 2 EP last March.

Articles You May Like

Young Thug & His Lawyer To Serve Jail Time Together Following Contempt Order 
‘That’s Just Pure Gold’: Sherri Crichton’s Reaction To Frequent Jurassic Park Remake Rumors Is Something I Can Totally Get Behind
FBI Season 7: Cast and Character Guide
Will Smith Slapping Chris Rock Controversy Won’t Go Away
Trampolene’s Jack Jones announces debut solo album with new single, ‘Breathe’