Robert Glasper Releases Holiday EP ‘In December’


Grammy-winning musician Robert Glasper has released his first holiday project, In December, via Loma Vista Recordings. 

The 30-minute set, available exclusively on Apple Music, includes guest appearances from vocalists Andra Day, Alex Isley, PJ Morton, Sevyn Streeter, Tarriona “Tank” Ball, Cynthia Erivo and The Baylor Project.

In December includes reimagined versions of holiday classics like “Little Drummer Boy,” plus three original songs: “Make It Home” featuring Morton and Streeter, “Memories With Mama” featuring Ball and “December” featuring Day.

On the latter bluesy track, Day sings about the emptiness she feels during the holidays following a breakup.

“I thought we could make it through thе wintertime / And the seasons calling, and the tears keep falling / And it feels like no one’s home / And I thought we could make it to the summertime,” she croons on the downcast tune. 

Robert Glasper
Robert Glasper. (Photo Credit: Jesse Lirola)

Regarding the Glasper told Apple Music: “Andra and I co-wrote the song ‘December.’ It concentrates on real life and real feelings during the holidays. Some things aren’t always happy and people feel alone, they feel anxiety, and all kinds of things during the holidays. So we wanted to touch on those feelings and let people know you’re not alone.”

He also discussed the inspiration behind In December. “The intention for this album was less about Christmas songs and more about songs that feel good during the holidays,” Glasper told Apple Music. “I stayed away from thinking too much about Christmas and its traditional lingo and concentrated on real things people go through during the holiday season.”

Robert Glasper Black Radio 3
Loma Vista Recordings

In December is the follow-up to Glasper’s 2022 album, Black Radio IIIIt won Best R&B Album at the 65th Grammy Awards ceremony held in February.

Since then, Glasper has been keeping busy with other projects, including Run the World: Season 2 soundtrack, which features SiR and Alex Isley’s “Back to Love.” 

Additionally, his collective Dinner Party — which includes Terrace Martin, 9th Wonder and Kamasi Washington — released their album Enigmatic Society in April. The album features Tank, Arin Ray, Ant Clemons and Phoelix. 

Stream Robert Glasper’s EP In December below.

Originally Posted Here

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

50 Cent Says Ex-Drug Dealer’s Assault Claim Is Too Late
After The Voice Sets The Top 12, Is Gwen Stefani At A Disadvantage To Win Season 24?
Police Seek Public’s Help To Identify Fan’s Attackers
Watch footage from Shane MacGowan and The Pogues’ final gigs
Milwaukee Metal Fest Releases Lineup and Set Times |